What I am Thankful for

Today I was lucky to be able to spend Thanksgiving with many of my loved ones at my grandmothers house.  We had wonderful food made by my Aunt Ellen, Cousin Jackie, and Grandmother Gloria (Nannie to me), and it was the first time in weeks that I wasn’t the one cooking.  But today, I got to serve those that I love and who have helped make me the person that I am today.

This holiday was set to be a rough one because in April we lost my grandfather Marvin (Poppie). He was diagnosed with cancer in November of last year and was taken from us very quickly.  My grandfather was a determined, successful, and funny man (although I never got his jokes and he often told me I had no sense of humor).  He and my grandmother traveled all over the world, whether it be Hong Kong for work or Antartica on one of his 80+ cruises.  He wasn’t big on holidays that gifts were given, but he loved to eat and be with his family, and Thanksgiving was always an important day.

Many of us were dreading this day because he left a hole in our family, but an amazing thing happened, not one tear was shed and we all celebrated each other and his memory.  The food occupied his spot, which I served from, and I know he guided my hand.

When it was time for everyone to leave, my grandmother and I put on our pajamas (well, I actually wear one of her nightgowns when I visit) and watched a silly movie.  It was terrific to hear her laugh and at the very end of the movie, a lounge singer crooned a 1950’s classic.  I helped my grandma out of her chair and we danced.  I don’t know if I can express just how thankful I am to have been able to do that with her at the end of such a potentially difficult day.

I am a lucky girl to have had such amazing parents and grandparents, who have instilled in me the necessity in treating those around me with kindness and empathy.  I am thankful for them.

On a similar note, thank you to everyone that has donated their time, food, money, cars, supplies, and support.  You have all made this possible, and I thank you. I can only hope that you all had as good of a day as I did.

Mandy

Leave a Reply

