Today’s Update

“Caring for myself is not self-indulgence, it is self-preservation…”

–Audre Lorde via Pieranna

Let’s start with the good news, last night the Artisanal Holiday Market led by Lea Avroch made $725 and with additional donations, the total is over $800.  Tomorrow after work I will be visiting Maggie Quiles in Coney Island with the donation along with a large amount of pantry items to support them in feeding their community and rebuilding.  Thank you to everyone that donated items and bought all of the beautiful work.

On to the not so great news, I learned an important lesson the last couple of days: take care of yourself or you can’t take care of anyone else.  I was badly burned from a pot of boiling water three weeks ago, and in the rush of cooking and getting food out, I didn’t go to the doctor.  Which led to an infection that put me in the ER last night and gave me a ridiculously itchy/painful allergic reaction all over my body.  No sleep in two days and 7 hours in an emergency room have cured me of my belief that I can power through everything and anything.  I am home and recovering and will do a much better job of taking care of myself here on out because I truly believe in the work we are doing.

If you would like to donate any high needs items, pantry items, or money to add to the haul going out to Coney Island tomorrow, please use the contact page or email me at uwsloves2 @ gmail.com. I will be leaving at 6:30 and any additional support I can bring them is appreciated.

Mandy

Leave a Reply

